top of page

Summer Camp Tips & Hacks

Hey Sparklies! In todays Spark, we are talking Summer Camp! Specifically the Wilds, but these hacks will probably work for other sleepaway camps.



This post is divided into 5 Parts. Feel free to read all of them, or jump o the part that interests you most!



Packing For Camp

Ok. So Let's start packing! Trust me, this is SUCH A FUN process. It can be stressful too. Making sure you have everything can be tough! Take it from me. The first year I went to the Wilds, I just packed through their list. Soon, I realized that you may need to pack some things that aren't on that list.


Some things were also more important than I thought they would be. And now, Let's get on to those things!


Bring a Water bottle

This was overlooked by me the first year I went to camp. The list said it was "optional" so I skipped. BIG Mistake!!!! At least when I went to camp, they only gave us water at meals, which wasn't enough.


Need a Cool Camp Water bottle? Try one of these!

Trouble Carrying: Water bottle with strap

Needs to be cold! Insulated Water bottle



Bring a Backpack

This was SO helpful for Summer camp! I used mine all the time through out the week. It was helpful for lake day when we had to carry things like towels, dry cloths, goggles, and more. It was nice for carrying things like my camera, a hoodie, and a water bottle.


What type of Backpack? Here are some good options:

Easy, simple, waterproof: Drawstring Backpack

Comfortable: Gym Backpack

Small, lightweight, small things: Fanny Pack



Bring a Hoodie/Jacket

So, when I saw this for the first time on the camp packing list here is what I thought: What Summer? A Hoodie? I would melt in one of those things. Are you kidding? Me at Summer Camp in the Morning services and cabins: BRRRRRRRRRRRRRR WHY DIDN'T I BRING A JACKET???? It does get cold and they do bump up the air conditioning!


The things I found most helpful at camp:

For rain in the afternoon: Rain resistant Jacket

For Cold mornings: Hoodie



Include a photo of what you packed

This tip may be more helpful then you think. Basically I took a picture of EVERYTHING I brought and then printed it. This was helpful for making sure I had everything I brought on the way back.






Organizing Your Stuff

Organization is SO important throughout the Chaos of camp. Un-organized cabins, suitcase, and more can be stressful. Let's start making it stressless!


Use a Duffel Bag or a Large Backpack

This saved me last year! The first year I went to camp I JAM PACKED my suit case to the point it could barely close. When I arrived at camp, everything just exploded out of my suitcase when I opened it! Lesson learned, last year I brought a duffel bag! I was SO much better.


Packing Ideas:

Great for lots of space: Duffel bag

Great For Small spaces: Backpack


Organize Toiletries in a Makeup box organizer

All those small things can get tossed around SO easily! That's why I like using organizers for makeup. They have compartments for little things you need and more.


Here are the ones I like best:

Boxed in one spot: Makeup organizer

Little things organizer: Hanging bag





Organize Each Day's Cloths in Bags or Packing Cubes

Do you have trouble with deciding what to wear each day or find your cloths get wrinkled in your suitcase or bag from being tossed around? If so, try deciding your outfits before you go. Then add them to plastic bags or packing cubes for each day. Include socks and under cloths too!


My Favorite Packing tools:

Packing Cubs: Travel Zipper-cubes

Bag Organizers Suitcase organizer


Q. If I don't have access to bags or packing cubes, how can I keep things more organized?

A. I would say, roll your pants, shorts, and shirts. Then, write your outfits in a notebook. Ex: Pink shirt with flowers with the Black athletic shorts.



Going and Arriving at Camp

Aren't those first few minuts at camp so exiting? They can be a whirl to. Just so you know: I know each camp is different and the things in this section of the post are going to relate mostly to JBC at the Wilds. Each camp is different.


Bring Snacks /and or Gum for the way up to Camp

You know what the Wilds is part famous for? The WINDY road to get there. There are SO many twists and turns! To help with this, try eating snacks or chewing gum. AVOID: Reading, watching things, or looking out the window.


My Favorite Snacks and Gum flavors:

Gum: Watermelon, Mint

Snacks: Pretzels, water, cookies. chocolate, Rice Crispy treats, chips, popcorn, protein bars


By Some Snacks at Vending Machines

Want to save time on getting that one bag of Skittles at JBC? The lines are SO annoying! Don't want to have to wait long for those Skittles? Head to the vending machines! They are WAY faster!


This also works for (May change) . .

Cookies

Drinks

Chips

. . Way more!



Avoid Lake Day Fights

It can be hard when you choose a daredevil lake buddy, when you just want to swim. You have to sit on the deck while you buddy has fun. This is sad, but it can also start fights in cabins you don't want. I experienced this my first year. It was not fun or something I want to go through again.


Here is a way to make sure that doesn't happen:

First, ask your cabin mates what they want to do at the lake. (Do they want to just swim or go on the blob or water trolley?)

Next, buddy up with the same cabin mate who wants to the the same things as you. That way, you both have a nice time and don't sit around bored.


Meet New Cabin mates even if you're shy

This can be hard thing to do especially if you are introverted! Being around a camp full of people you don't know can be hard and that's totally OK! First, make sure you can meet your counselor. All the counselors I have had were very nice. Next, ask a question to your cabin mates when you meet them!


Questions I like to ask people I have never met:

What is your name?

How old are you?

(Notice something they are wearing) EX: I like the horse on your shirt! Have you ever ridden one?

Do you play a sport?

What are your hobbies?

What are you looking forward to doing this week?



Make fun Memories

BIG IMPORTANT tip: Have fun at camp! I love making fun memories with my cabin mates. Here are some of the fun things we did:


We had an Ice cream contest

Each of use girls teamed up into groups of two. Then we went to the snack shop and bought ice cream and snacks for the ice cream. Our counselor was the judge. Me and my partners ice cream had Skittles, cotton candy ice cream, pop rocks, nerd gummies, and Spritz Cans. That might have been over board


We brought games

One of the girls in my cabin brought Rook, and I brought UNO. It was so much fun to play these card games while waiting for dinner, lunch and for the land trolley.


Help Cabin Mates have Great week

Your cabin mates can become your friends! That's why its great to make them have a good week to. Here is a good rule to make for yourself: Treat your cabin mates how you would want them to treat you. Even if it's simple, its kind!


Here are some things you can do to help your cabin mates have a better week:

Let them go in front of you at the snack shop

Do their hair in braids or a bun

Help them memorize their verses

Tell them they are good at something

If your team looses, encourage them

Let them use your pens for taking notes

Share your snacks with them

Share things they forgot with them (If they forgot their toothpaste, let them use some of yours)

Pray for them



Money Saving + Spending Tips

Money can be a good or bad experience at camp. Maybe you spend too much money the first day and don't have more money for snacks or crafts. Hopefully, you can learn some tips to make sure this doesn't happen!


First let's tackle a question.


How much money should I bring to Camp?

Each time I have been to JBC, I have brought between $50 - $60, but you really don't need to bring much. It depends on you. If you don't like sweets, or crafting, you don't need to bring much money. And let's be real, I have seen people survive camp with only $15 It just depends on how you spend that money. Most of my cabin mates have brought $10-$150 to camp. Talk to your parents about this topic.



Create a Budget or daily spending Limit

Do you have trouble with money? Maybe you spend 75% of it on snacks and then wish you didn't. I like telling myself I am not spending more than $10 per day unless it is Friday. This approach has been very helpful.


You Can also say something like $30 goes to crafts, $20 goes to JBC store, and $10 goes to snacks. Budgeting I find works well.


Think "Will I regret Buying this" Before Purchase

If you aren't bringing a lot of money, consider taking this approach. If you buy 3 bags of skittles, are you going to regret it when you wish you had one more dollar to bey something big? Think about the end of camp. You don't want to live the last three days with only $6!



Fun Extras

In this section, we aren't going to be reviewing necessities. In fact, you don't need any of this stuff! It might just enhance your week at camp or make it a bit better. Let's jump in!


Bring a Camera

This would be fun for you if you love taking photos. Consider adding all your photos into a camp photo book! Cameras are nice for getting more pictures with girls in your cabin and for videoing fun experiences like the land trolley.



Bring a Game or Two

This is SO much fun! Bringing something like this to do with your cabin is fun! Try games like UNO or Rook. You'll have fun!



So! That almost sums up this post! BUT you get a freebie before you leave! Its a Check list! Print the PDF for a useful tool!



Comment your favorite Summer camp memory!

By Sparkers!

21 views5 comments

5 Comments


Emma123
Jun 23

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOH! I never went to camp but it sounds fun! Great tips!

Like

Lily
Lily
Jun 18

My favorite memory was...........That's a hard question for me. I really enjoyed all of it.

I will just list some off the top of my head.

MY counselors, Miss Emma and Miss Grayline were really sweet and fun.

Miss Emma had a flashlight party in are cabin ( since it was her birthday ) and it was something non of the other cabins did so I think that was supper speacile. It was something she said that only she did that one time. It was a super fun party.

The water war day was fun.

Team Sprit day was fun.

Wacky Wednesday was also fun.

I really enjoyed being outdoors a lot. Like we were outdoors a lot more than…

Like
Lily
Lily
Jun 24
Replying to

Well I think Sadie has said most of what I would say to.

When I went they said bring a flashlight and I found that very helpful for when we walked back to the cabins form the bound fire.

I brought plastice Walmart bags to put my dirty cloths in so that my other clothes would not get dirty and the suitcase could be still organized and not messy.

I have a note book dedicated to Camp only where I just keep the messages in .

I didn't bring a rain jacket but they didn't have that on the list though. We just rain inside when it started raining and also we took the buse when we were at the…


Like
flat-lay-arrangement-with-gadgets-copy-space.jpg

Love This Post?

Tell me about what you liked/disliked! I love getting comments so I can make more content for you!

bottom of page